Data rescue: where do my deleted files really go?

Data rescue: where do my deleted files really go?

When you delete files from your computer, they’re never truly deleted. But where do they go? We’re here to explain how data rescue works.

In general, when we think of deleted files, we imagine that data is tangibly erased, as in “no longer there.” The truth with digital data is slightly more complicated than that, however. This is why data rescue is often possible.

Files never really get erased from your computer. Instead, they’re forgotten or made unavailable in terms of memory. Find out what happens to files in their various states of deletion.

The recycle bin.

When you first delete a file, you can find it in a folder on your computer marked “trash” or “recycle bin.” By default, that’s where files are stored when they’re removed from their original folder.

Data rescue is easy when you’re at the recycle bin stage: Simply click on the file in the bin and select Restore” or “recover.”

Beyond the bin.

When you clear your recycle bin, do you think those trashed files are gone for good?

No, they’re still there, taking space on your computer’s hard drive. You just can’t access them as easily.

Every digital file is made up of two components: the file’s registry and the actual content of the file. When you remove a file from the recycle bin, you delete it from your disc’s file registry. The file is no longer visible via your PC’s file explorer, and it can no longer be edited.

Though the file’s registry is gone, its content is still written in your hard drive’s memory. The file still technically occupies its space on your disc, but this space is no longer reserved for it.

At this stage, to recover the deleted file, you need special data rescue software to piece it back together. The recovery program preserves the file’s information and regenerates its place in the computer’s registry.

Overwriting deleted files.

The longer you wait to recover a file, the less effective data rescue becomes.

Once the file is gone from the disc’s registry, it’s content is overwritten by any new data that’s saved. When information is overwritten new data replaces it. At this point, the old information no longer holds any space on your hard drive.

Files that are partially overwritten can still be recovered. However, once the majority of a document’s content is replaced, the file cannot be restored to its original state.

In some cases, the file may appear to be recovered, but upon clicking on it, you may find that it is corrupt and cannot be read.

Shredding files for privacy.

Under some circumstances, you may want to delete all evidence of a file. You may need to destroy a file beyond repair for data breach and privacy reasons.

In that case, instead of restoring the file, you can shred it or overwrite it on purpose. this way, you don’t have to wait for new data to replace that file over time.

Shredding a file is especially useful if you are repurposing, selling or giving away your computer. It is always best to wipe all your data and make sure it cannot be recovered when someone else takes over your system.

Need data rescue?

Have you changed your mind about keeping some documents you’ve already deleted?

Perhaps you’ve formatted your PC’s disc and lost some pertinent data.

No problem: You can recover your files for free using our PC cleaning and recovery software. Don’t wait until your information is overwritten before you try to get it back. Contact us today to learn more about our PC cleaning and recovery software.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *